--

A recent FB post asked "What is the ONE thing you would eliminate if you could?" I answered "Religion." (I didn't say anything about spirituality.) In less than a minute I had trolls crawling out from under the refrigerator and behind the stove, shoving aside disgusting tangles of dog hair. "I can't believe you said that!!!!!" screamed my partner's auntie. I had to delete my response before my very religious stepson saw it. That would have been bad. It's like, if you're not religious, everyone who is religious takes it personally and enjoys showing off their shock and awe at what a horrible sinner you are. I could go on. And on. But I won't do that here. Thanks, Dan. This needed to be said.

--

--

Adelia Ritchie, PhD

Author of "The Accidental Expat: A Costa Rican Adventure", science lover, contributing editor at SalishMagazine.org, expat, seeking the interesting and unusual